Eurovision 2024: First Semi-Final Results

Eurovision 2024: First Semi-Final Results
Tuesday, 07 May 2024

  • The Eurovision 2024 first Semi-final show is over and we have our first 10 qualifiers for this year's contest determined. 

    Following last evening's Jury rehearsal show for the Semi Final 1 competing acts, tonight the Semi-final 1 LIve show took place in Malmo Arena in Malmo, Sweden determining the first set of 10 qualifying entries to Saturday's Grand final show.

    From the 37 participating coutries the first 15 countries competed in this evening's  first semi-final live show. The rest 16 coutries will compete in the Semi-final 2 on Thursday while the Big-5 countries ( Germany, Italy, Spain, France and the United Kingdom) along with the hosting nation Sweden have pre-qualified for the Grand final. 

    The Live Semi-Final One Show was hosted by Pedra Mede and Malin Åkerman. The show opened with the interval act of 'United by Music' which included  2018's runner up Eleni Foureira singing 'Fuego' for Cyprus, Sweden's representative back in 2011 Eric Saade with the song 'Popular', the Spanish entrant in 2022 in Turin Chanel with her song 'SloMo' which finished 3rd, all three gracing the stage in Malmo Arena.  

    The competing part of the show unfolded in the following running order: 


    1. Cyprus – Silia Kapsis – “Liar”


    2. Serbia – Teya Dora – “Ramonda”


    3. Lithuania – Silvester Belt – “Luktelk”


    4. Ireland – Bambie Thug – “Doomsday Blue”


    5. Ukraine – Alyona Alyona and Jerry Heil – “Teresa & Maria”


    6. Poland – Luna – “The Tower”


    7. Croatia – Baby Lasagna – “Rim Tim Tagi Dim”


    8. Iceland  – Hera Björk – “Scared of Heights”


    9. Slovenia – Raiven – “Veronika”


    10. Finland – Windows95man – “No Rules!”


    11. Moldova – Natalia Barbu – “In the Middle”



    12. Azerbaijan – Fahree feat. Ilkin Dovlatov – “Özünlə apar”


    13. Australia – Electric Fields – “One Milkali (One Blood)”


    14. Portugal – Iolanda – “Grito”


    15. Luxembourg – Tali – “Fighter”



    Big-5 and Sweden performances

    Notably the two of the Big-5 countries the UK and Germany along with the hosting nationl Sweden performed live on stage tonight their performances a change that has been introduced in this year's edition. Specifically, The United Kingdom performed between the acts 4 and 5, Germany  appeared on stage between the acts 8 and 9, while Sweden delivered their entry between the acts 11 and 12.


    United Kingdom - Olly Alexander - "Dizzy"


    Germany - Isaak - "Always on the run"


    Sweden - Marcus & Martinus - "Unforgettable"


    Once all performances were completed two interval acts took place on stage before the results. Iconic Eurovision star Johnny Logan, the Irish twice winner of the contest, in 1981 and 1987  returned on the Eurovision stage this time as Inrerval act delivering on stage the Swedish winning song of 2012, Loreen's  'Euphoria'

    Also Swedish Eurovision 2028 representative, Benjamim Ingrosso, graced  the stage with his own interval performance. 


    Voting process

    The outcome of the semi-final one was be determined exclusively by public voting. Viewers from tonight’s participating countries were eligible to cast their votes. In addition, viewers from the United KingdomGermany and Sweden and the Rest of the World were also be able to vote in this first semi-final.

    In this year's edition the EBU is implementing a different voting process. The viewers are able to vote not after the end of the last performance, but are able to cast their votes from the beginning of the show. 


    Rest of the World Voting

    Int this year's edition the Rest of the World fans will have a say in the outcome of the show. In order to sychronize the different time zones,  the Rest of the World online vote opened from the end of the Jury Show the previous evening from the live show. The vote wias open until the end of the voting window during the live broadcast of Semi-Final One.

    Fans from non participating countries had the chance to cast their votes once they prewatched a clip of all of the cometing entries. Voting  costs 0.99 Euro per vote and is carried out at


    The results

    A total of 10 qualifiers made it to Saturday's Grand final show they are: 

     Semi final 1 qualifiers2024



    The analytical results of the semifinals will be released after the Grand final show late Saturday night. On Thursday the second semi-final follows with 16 countries taking the stage to compete for the last 10 spots in the Grand final. 


     News Source/ Videos: