Finland: Cyan Kicks release their UMK 2022 entry “Hurricane”

Finland: Cyan Kicks release their UMK 2022 entry “Hurricane”
Thursday, 13 January 2022

  • Cyan Kicks have released their entry for the Finnish national final, UMK 2022, titled "Hurricane". 

    Following the release of the seven UMK 2022 contestants, the entries of the candidates will be progressively released throughout the week. 

    The first out of seven competing entries for this year's UMK 2022 has been released as Cyan Kicks have released their song "Hurricane" for the Finnish national Final. 


    Elize Ryd, one of the lead vocalists in Danish-Swedish group Amaranthe, collaborated in writing the song. American musician-producer Chris Walla and producer-mixer Zakk Cervini also added their own touches to the song.

    Cyan Kicks is a rock band conisting of Susanna AlexandraNiila PerkkiöLeevi Erkkilä and Pietari Reijonen. Cyan Kicks was founded in 2016, and the group has so far released two albums’ worth of music, which has been streamed over 10 million times. The group describes its music as unique modern rock with a fusion of styles. Their UMK entry Hurricane is an ideal example of this when it comes to style. Its verses are electronic, while the choruses and guitar solos form the heavier parts. 


    Song Releases

    The UMK entries will be released on the official UMK Youtube channel every weekday at midnight Finnish time from January 13 onwards. The songs will be released in the following order: 

    • January 13 – Cyan Kicks
    • January 14 –  BESS
    • January 17 – The Rasmus
    • January 18 – Younghearted
    • January 19 – Olivera
    • Jaunary 20 – Tommi Läntinen
    • January 21 – Isaac Sene


    UMK returns to Logomo arena in Turku after a two year break, as the show was hosted in the Mediapolis Studios in Tampere the last two editions. The national final is set to take place on February 26, 2022. The outcome of the national final will be determined by a combination of public (75%) and jury voting (25%).


    Finland in Eurovision

    Finland has participated in the Eurovision Song Contest 53 times since its debut in 1961. Finland won the contest for the first time in 2006 with Lordi's "Hard Rock Hallelujah". The country's best result before then was achieved by Marion Rung with the song "Tom Tom Tom" in 1973, which placed sixth.

    Finland has finished last in the contest eleven times, receiving "nul points" in 1963, 1965 and 1982. Since the introduction of the semi-finals in 2004, Finland has failed to reach the final eight times. In 2014, the country had its best result in eight years when Softengine finished 11th. In 2015, Finland finished last in the first semi-final with the shortest-ever Eurovision entry, "Aina mun pitää" performed by Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät.

    In 2020 Aksel won the national final with the song “Looking Back”.  As the competition was cancelled due to the covid-19 pandemic he never reached the Eurovision stage in Rotterdam. 

    This year the rock band Blind Channel triumphed in UMK 2021 with their song 'Dark Side' and went off defending the Finnish colors in Rotterdam, where they achieved the country's second best result finishing 6th with 301 points in the overall score.


    News source/Image: YLE