The Nethlerlands: Junior Songfestival 2021 finalists unveiled

The Nethlerlands: Junior Songfestival 2021 finalists unveiled
Saturday, 05 June 2021

  • The Dutch national broadcaster, AVROTROS , has unveiled the 10 finalists of Junior Songfestival 2021, the event that will determine the next Junior Eurovision representative. 


    Following the auditions rounds the previous days AVROTROS has revealed the names of the finalists of the next Junior Eurovision 2021 national final. A total of 10 acts have been included for the final event that will determine the Dutch JESC 2021 hopeful. 


    The 10 acts that will compete in next September's national final are: 


    • Jade
    • Mirre
    • Angelina
    • Lyova
    • Ayana
    • Loïs
    • Priscilla
    • Ceder
    • Faye
    • Soline

    In the next phase of the process the 10 finalists will be organised in four acts, that could be either groups or duos or soloists. Each act will than prepare its entry for the final that will take place in September. The groups that will be formed will go public next week via the official Junior Songfestival Youtube channel.

    The winning act of the final will earn the right to represent Holland in the next Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Paris, on December 19,2021 in La Seine Musicale.


    The Netherlands in Junior Eurovision

    The Netherlands has been participating in the contest since day 1 in 2003 and haven’t missed a year. In 2009 they won the competition and have achieved nine times to finish in the top 10 places. The country’s worst place came in 2015 when it finished 15th. In 2018 the country was represented by the duo Max & Anne and their entry Samen, which finished in 13th place with 91 points.

    In 2019, Matheu represented the nation in Gliwice with his song "Dans met jou" which finished in the 4th place with 186 points. In 2020 the girl group UNITY won the national final and represented the nation in Warsaw, Poland with their song 'Best Friends'  which finished 4th, the second fourth placing for the county in a row.


    News Source: AVROTROS/Eurovoxx

    Image: ESCplus